September 19, 2006

Album Review

After attaining superstardom with Black Eyed Peas, Fergie's solo debut, The Dutchess, has all the characteristics of a release fronted by someone who has been itching to go solo and prove herself, once and for all, as a versatile force all her own. The album, produced mostly by fellow Pea, includes throwback hip-hop ("Fergalicious"), throwback soul ("Here I Come"), even ska-punk ("Mary Jane Shoes") and scat ("Mary Jane Shoes") and a classy string-drenched ballad (the appropriately titled "Finally"). But the song with the most lasting value is the hit single "London Bridge."
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Fergalicious
  2. Clumsy
  3. All That I Got (The Make Up Song)
  4. London Bridge
  5. Pedestal
  6. Voodoo Doll
  7. Glamorous
  8. Here I Come
  9. Velvet
  10. Big Girls Don't Cry
  11. Mary Jane Shoes
  12. Losing My Ground
  13. Finally