RELEASE
April 11, 2006
LABEL
Verve

Album Review

This 1971 date by New Orleans guitarist Snooks Eaglin was recorded in the Crescent City and produced -- insofar as such a thing exists on a solo date like this -- by Samuel Charters, who has written new liner notes for the Sonet Blues Story series -- he produced the entire range of blues sessions for the European label in the early '70s. These 15 cuts capture Eaglin and his considerably understated and under-appreciated artistry -- Eaglin was a guitarist's guitarist and could play jazz, blues, rhythm & blues, and soul with equal acumen. The high points here are his originals such as "Who's Lovin You Tonight," "&Funky Malaguena" and "That Same Old Train." However, his covers, especially of Phil Spector's and Doc Pomus' "Young Boy Blues," and Charles E. Calhoun's "Shake, Rattle and Roll," are also high points -- the latter of which is one of two bonus cuts included here. Sound is spectacular, and remastered in 24-bit sound. Eaglin's soulful voice is every bit as attractive and compelling as his guitar playing. One listen to "Little Girl of Mine," or Sam Cooke's "Win Your Love for Me," (another bonus track) is enough to make any blues fan sit up and take notice. This is one of the brightest volumes in the Sonet Blues Story series.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Boogie Childrenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/boogie-children/id137004192?i=137004196&uo=5
  2. Who's Loving You Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/whos-loving-you-tonight/id137004192?i=137004203&uo=5
  3. Lucillehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lucille/id137004192?i=137004206&uo=5
  4. Drive It Homehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/drive-it-home/id137004192?i=137004213&uo=5
  5. Good Newshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-news/id137004192?i=137004216&uo=5
  6. Funky Malaguenahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/funky-malaguena/id137004192?i=137004225&uo=5
  7. Pine Top's Boogie-Woogiehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-sonet-blues-story/id137004192?uo=5
  8. That Same Old Trainhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/that-same-old-train/id137004192?i=137004235&uo=5
  9. I Get the Blues When It Rainshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-get-the-blues-when-it-rains/id137004192?i=137004238&uo=5
  10. Young Boy Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/young-boy-blues/id137004192?i=137004243&uo=5
  11. Tomorrow Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tomorrow-night/id137004192?i=137004249&uo=5
  12. Little Girl of Minehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/little-girl-of-mine/id137004192?i=137004253&uo=5
  13. Shake a Hand [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/shake-a-hand/id137004192?i=137004262&uo=5
  14. Shake, Rattle and Roll [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/shake-rattle-and-roll/id137004192?i=137004268&uo=5
  15. Win Your Love for Me [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/win-your-love-for-me/id137004192?i=137004272&uo=5
purchase full album