August 24, 2004

Album Review

Jason Mraz made quite an impression in 2003 -- the anti-John Mayer even as he was his peer. Mraz built a nationwide coffeehouse on the strength of singles like "The Remedy (I Won't Worry)" and "You and I Both," and those tracks anchor this pleasant live set. Tonight, Not Again finds Mraz to be an engaging performer, able to flutter his voice up and down through registers with incredible ease. He's performing music tailor-made for the Aware Records crowd -- Midwestern college students, open-mike hosts, and guys with beards. Mraz's twittering following eats up every morsel of Tonight, from the soft tones of the title track opener through the drifting "Sleeping to Dream" (his own "Wonderland") and the rousing, smartly lyrical "Too Much Food." Mraz is also shown to have a classic rock flair in his songwriting. "Absolutely Zero" references Pink Floyd's "Us and Them," "Common Pleasure" and "Curbside Prophet" stretch into scat and percussion-filled jams, and he does a nice cover of Elton John's "Rocket Man." John Popper guests, the horn section is a nice touch, and pretty soon Tonight, Not Again becomes a fan-friendly breeze. [Some editions of Tonight, Not Again included a DVD portion with behind-the-scenes footage.]
Johnny Loftus, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tonight, Not Again
  2. Not So Usual
  3. Dialogue
  4. No Doubling Back
  5. You and I Both
  6. Absolutely Zero
  7. 1000 Things
  8. Common Pleasure
  9. Curbside Prophet
  10. Sleeping to Dream
  11. Unfold
  12. No Stopping Us [Live]
  13. The Remedy (I Won't Worry)
  14. After an Afternoon
  15. Too Much Food
  16. The Right Kind
  17. Sleep All Day [Acoustic]
  18. Dream Life of Rand McNally
  19. 0% Interest
  20. On Love, In Sadness
  21. The Boy's Gone
  22. Who Needs Shelter
  23. Rocket Man [Live]
  24. Tonight, Not Again [DVD]
  25. Not So Usual [DVD]
  26. No Doubling Back [DVD]
  27. You and I Both [DVD]
  28. Absolutely Zero [DVD]
  29. 1000 Things [DVD]
  30. Common Pleasure [DVD]
  31. Curbside Prophet [DVD]
  32. Sleeping to Dream [DVD]
  33. Unfold [DVD]
  34. The Right Kind [DVD]
  35. No Stopping Us [DVD][Live]
  36. The Remedy (I Won't Worry) [DVD]
  37. After an Afternoon [DVD]
  38. Too Much Food [DVD]
purchase full album