Album Review

Sly & the Family Stone's debut album is more restrained and not nearly as funky or psychedelic as their subsequent efforts, owing far more to traditional soul arrangements. These aren't that traditional, though; Sly is already using goofier and/or more thoughtful lyrics than the soul norm, and taking some cues from rock in his adventurous and unexpected song construction. The Family Stone, similarly, aren't as innovative as they would shortly become, but are already a tight unit, particularly in the interplay between lead and backup vocals and the sharp horn riffs.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Underdog
  2. Run, Run, Run
  3. If This Room Could Talk
  4. I Cannot Make It
  5. Turn Me Loose
  6. Let Me Hear It from You
  7. Advice
  8. Trip to Your Heart
  9. I Hate to Love Her
  10. Bad Risk
  11. That Kind of Person
  12. Dog
  13. What Would I Do [#][*]
purchase full album