July 14, 1998
Digital Sound

Album Review

Trisha Yearwood is a pop diva who knows how to play her instrument: her voice. Perhaps one of the most gifted contemporary pop vocalists, Yearwood continues to explore the vast expanses of her talent. Displaying only traces of her early work as a country music artist, she sings with yearning on songs like "Powerful Thing." Buddy Miller's backing vocals on "Bring Me All Your Lovin'" are a highlight of this project. Yearwood's brilliance is adequately displayed on "I Don't Want to Be the One" and "I'll Still Love You More" (the latter a Diane Warren composition). She is at her best when she inhabits the world of emotional ballads and snappy, up-tempo tunes about the emotional life of modern women. While she is no country singer by any stretch of the imagination, she is still an important element in pop music.
Jana Pendragon, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. There Goes My Baby
  2. Never Let You Go Again
  3. That Ain't the Way I Heard It
  4. Powerful Thing
  5. Love Wouldn't Lie to Me
  6. Wouldn't Any Woman
  7. I'll Still Love You More
  8. Heart Like a Sad Song
  9. I Don't Want to Be the One
  10. Bring Me All Your Lovin'
  11. Where Your Road Leads
purchase full album