September 19, 2005

Album Review

Simply put, this compilation is a different and much cheaper version of The Best of John Fahey, 1959-1977. The tracks are in different order, but the contents are the same. These 15 tracks are taken from just a few Fahey albums on Takoma -- Death Chants, Breakdowns and Military Waltzes, The Legend of Blind Joe Death, The Dance of Death & Other Plantation Favorites, and Leo Kottke, John Fahey & Peter Lang -- though he recorded more than a dozen. He selected them himself for the original LP, though at least one -- "Dance of the Inhabitants of the Palace of King Philip XIV of Spain" -- was recut specifically for this collection. The CD includes a liner essay by Chris White.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. On the Sunny Side of the Ocean
  2. When Springtime Comes Again
  3. St. Louis Blues
  4. Give Me Cornbread When I'm Hungry
  5. Spanish Two Step
  6. Spanish Dance
  7. Dance of the Inhabitants of the Palace of King Phillip XIV of Spain
  8. I'm Goin' to Do All I Can for My Lord
  9. The Last Steam Engine Train
  10. Poor Boy a Long Way from Home
  11. Some Summer Day
  12. In Christ There Is No East or West
  13. Sunflower River Blues
  14. Revolt of the Dyke Brigade
  15. Take a Look at That Baby