May 24, 2011
Mixtape Coalition

Album Review

If there's a voice box for the G-Funk era, it is undebatably the smooth baritone hook-factory of Nate Dogg. Appearing on early-'90s Death Row productions as the R&B crooner that iced the cake of Dre's hard-edged beats, Dogg was a constant presence as smooth cameo vocalist in various hip-hop and R&B joints up to his untimely passing in 2011. 1969-2011 is a greatest-hits collection of sorts, presented in the form of a continuous mix by DJ White Owl. Starting with his style-defining contribution to Warren G's 1994 Michael McDonald-sampling hit "Regulators" and flowing in a partying swerve through Dogg-heavy tracks by rap megastars Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, and 50 Cent, this collection is all about Dogg as a hit-maker. Every track is not just supported by his silky, thuggish verses, but really becomes centered around them. Xzibit's yawn-worthy "Say My Name" is made interesting only by Dogg's eerie, double-tracked choruses. Continuous mixing keeps the high points coming one after another, making this collection less stoic and more of the kind of party the late Nate Dogg was known to inspire.
Fred Thomas, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Regulators
  2. The Next Episode
  3. Bosses Life
  4. Lay Low
  5. I'm So Fly
  6. Ain' No Fun
  7. Till I Collapse
  8. 21 Questions
  9. Never Enough
  10. Times Up
  11. Special
  12. Where I'm From
  13. Oh No
  14. Multiply
  15. Interlude
  16. Say My Name
  17. Running Ya Mouth
  18. Me & My Homie
  19. I Got Love
  20. Shake That Ass
  21. Bonus Track [*]