October 06, 2009
429 Records

Album Review

Instead of releasing another full-blown collection of new songs, Everclear issued In a Different Light in the fall of 2009. Harking back to the earliest days of rock & roll, when rock & rollers cut new versions of their old hits whenever they signed to a new label, Everclear redo their old tunes for 429 Records, but where Fats Domino and Chuck Berry pretty much stuck to the letter of their original hits, Everclear revamp these tunes, not so much making them into unplugged versions but turning them into something studiously mature and age appropriate, with the energy dialed down and the palette expanded yet muted.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Everything to Everyone
  2. Wonderful
  3. At the End of the Day
  4. Santa Monica
  5. Summerland
  6. Here Comes the Darkness
  7. Father of Mine
  8. Fire Maple Song
  9. Rock Star
  10. Learning How to Smile
  11. I Will Buy You a New Life
purchase full album