October 06, 2009

Album Review

Lights' full-length debut The Listening finds vocalist/songwriter Valerie Poxleitner delivering a steady flow of gentle indie-electronic alt-rock that showcases her sweet voice. Bringing to mind a more subdued Cyndi Lauper, Lights' music leans heavily toward melodic and catchy midtempo anthems that percolate and chirp with keyboards, beats, and light electric guitar accents. In that sense, Lights sounds something along the lines of a Daft Punk-junior dorm room chanteuse. To these ends, tracks like the brightly pulsating lead-off cut, "Saviour," and the hard-house-lite of "River" make for perfect late-night, low-key disco hits. Similarly engaging are such mid-album cuts like the Kylie Minogue-esque "Ice" and the yearning '90s R&B-infused "Second Go." Heartfelt and warm for sure, but Lights' The Listening may just move more than your heart.
Matt Collar, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Saviour
  2. Drive My Soul
  3. River
  4. The Listening
  5. Ice
  6. Pretend
  7. The Last Thing On Your Mind
  8. Second Go
  9. February Air
  10. Face Up
  11. Lions!
  12. Quiet
  13. Pretend (Reprise)
  14. Saviour (Colin Munroe's Unsung Mix)
  15. Saviour (The Angry Kids FM Mix)
  16. Up Up and Away (Bonus Track)
purchase full album