May 25, 2009
Sony Music Distribution

Album Review

One of the defining pop stars of the decade, P!nk is perhaps more successful than ever, having just scored her first U.K. number one album, Funhouse, and a huge-selling number one single, "So What." So P!nk Box, a unique package consisting of her first four studio albums, is the perfect opportunity for any recent converts to find out how she's managed to sustain such an impressively consistent career. Debut album Can't Take Me Home is undoubtedly a product of its time, with its staccato beats and harpsichord riffs heavily influenced by the late-'90s chart domination of Destiny's Child and TLC. Even amidst its identikit R&B production, P!nk's rebellious nature shines through, particularly on the first two singles, the feisty "There You Go" and the operatic "Most Girls," but there is very little to suggest she would avoid the flash-in-the-pan fate of the countless other similar artists around at the time. However, her seamless reinvention on follow-up M!ssundaztood changed all that. Evidently taking much more control of her career, P!nk personally tracked down ex-4 Non Blondes frontwoman Linda Perry to work on a collection of angst-ridden guitar pop songs that would go on to sell over 12 million copies worldwide. The likes of "Misery," a duet with Aerosmith's Steven Tyler, the confessional "Family Portrait," and the controversial number one "Just Like a Pill" all combine honest lyrics with a slightly alternative sound, which would later provide the benchmark for the careers of Kelly Clarkson and Katy Perry, to name just two. Third album Try This, co-written with punk band Rancid's Tim Armstrong, saw P!nk move even further away from her urban beginnings. The hillbilly rock of "Trouble" and frenetic drum'n'bass-tinged "Last to Know" show an artist unafraid to experiment, but without the pop sensibilities of its predecessor, Try This failed to match even half its sales. Taking two years out to record the curiously titled I'm Not Dead, P!nk returned with a sound that borrowed from all three previous records to convincing effect. The Paris Hilton-baiting first single, "Stupid Girls," harks back to the polished R&B of her debut; "Who Knew," arguably her finest moment, is an emotional guitar ballad reminiscent of her sophomore effort; while the bluesy, acoustic "The One That Got Away" could have been lifted from her less polished third. Any casual fan may find four complete albums a bit hard going and any future greatest-hits compilation may now be rendered rather pointless. But for anyone wishing to investigate further, P!nk Box is a comprehensive value-for-money collection from the artist most likely to be the successor to Madonna's pop crown.
Jon O'Brien, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Split Personality
  2. Hell Wit Ya
  3. Most Girls
  4. There You Go*
  5. You Make Me Sick
  6. Let Me Let You Know
  7. Love Is Such a Crazy Thing
  8. Private Show
  9. Can't Take Me Home
  10. Stop Falling
  11. Do What U Do
  12. Hiccup
  13. Is It Love
  14. There You Go [Sovereign Mix][*]
  15. Most Girls [X Men Vocal Mix] [*]
  16. Get the Party Started
  17. 18 Wheeler
  18. M!ssundaztood
  19. Dear Diary
  20. Eventually
  21. Catch-22
  22. Just Like a Pill
  23. Family Portrait
  24. Misery
  25. Respect
  26. Don't Let Me Get Me
  27. Gone to California
  28. Lonely Girl
  29. My Vietnam
  30. Catch-22
  31. [CD-Rom Track] [Multimedia] [Multimedia Track]
  32. Trouble
  33. God Is a DJ
  34. Last to Know
  35. Tonight's the Night
  36. Oh My God
  37. Catch Me While I'm Sleeping
  38. Waiting for Love
  39. Save My Life
  40. Try Too Hard
  41. Humble Neighborhoods
  42. Walk Away
  43. Unwind
  44. Feel Good Time
  45. Love Song
  46. Interview with Pink
  47. [CD-Rom Track] [Multimedia] [Multimedia Track]
  48. Stupid Girls
  49. Who Knew
  50. Long Way to Happy
  51. Nobody Knows
  52. Dear Mr. President
  53. I'm Not Dead
  54. 'Cuz I Can
  55. Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely)
  56. U + Ur Hand
  57. Runaway
  58. The One That Got Away
  59. I Got Money Now
  60. Conversations With My 13 Year Old Self
  61. Fingers [*]
  62. Centerfold [*]
  63. [Untitled Track]