July 07, 2009
Woz Records

Album Review

Initially conceived as the sophomore solo album by singer/songwriter John Wozniak, Marcy Playground's fourth album, Leaving Wonderland...In a Fit of Rage, never quite shakes the feeling of being the work of one man: acoustic guitars outweigh the electrics and a hazy spirit of eclecticism hangs over the album, as do circular Lennon-esque psychedelic melodies, all fueling a feeling of introspection. This means Leaving Wonderland sounds quite a bit different than its loud, grungy predecessor, MP3, not to mention Marcy Playground's eponymous 1997 debut, but its weathered, worn sounds feel appropriate for the band 12 years on from "Sex and Candy." Elements of that early version of the band can be heard here, largely in Wozniak's facility with a hook -- best heard on the lightly propulsive "Star Baby" -- and also how the group can occasionally grind out some noise. But this isn't about pop or rock; it's a nicely inward-looking collection of adult rock. It does feel a bit like a solo album, but it's better that it's released under the group's name, because it deserves to be heard by a wider audience as it proves that there's more to Marcy Playground and Wozniak than one grunge-era hit.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Blackbird
  2. Devil Woman
  3. Gin and Money
  4. Star Baby
  5. I Burned the Bed
  6. Irene
  7. Emperor
  8. Good Times
  9. I Must Have Been Dreaming
  10. Memphis
  11. Thank You
  12. Down the Drain
purchase full album